About Our School » Our History

Our History

Built in 1911 by H.M. Kimball and R.H. Holbrook, Allesandro Elementary dates back as far as the Elysian Valley community which was established around the turn of the 20th century for local railroad workers. Elysian Valley, formally known as Gopher Flats and Little River Valley, runs adjacent to the Los Angeles River which has led to its most recent moniker, Frogtown, after the thousands of Western Toads that invaded the neighborhood in the 1930's. For over 100 years, Allesandro Elementary has continually evolved to meet the needs of this dynamic and ever-changing community.
In 1989, Allesandro's innovative spirit led to the inception of Allesandro Cooperative Learning Magnet (ACLM), one of the first Magnet schools in the North East Los Angeles area. Despite the inevitable changes to the school's architecture, student population, and teaching staff, Allesandro has maintained its spirit of community as it continues to explore new and innovative ways to excite and inspire new generations of learners.